DG Futures Town Hall with The Black List founder Franklin Leonard

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 Multiple Times Zones

The Dramatists Guild is committed to ensuring inclusive and accessible programming. Please email questions@dramatistsguild.com with any questions in regard to accessibility, including your own accessibility requirements. By registering for this event, you agree that you will comply with the Dramatists Guild Code of Conduct for Community Spaces, located at www.dramatistsguild.com/code-conduct-community-spaces. Failure to do so may result in removal from the meeting.

Virtual Event Free Event
Add to calendar

Atlantic Time: 8pm - 9:30pm

Eastern Time: 7pm - 8:30pm

Central Time: 6pm - 7:30pm

Mountain Time: 5pm - 6:30pm

Pacific Time: 4pm - 5:30pm

 

The Black List founder, Franklin Leonard, joins us to answer questions about how The Black List can be valuable for playwrights, composers, lyricists, and librettists. They have exciting theatre industry news you don't want to miss.

 

The Black List, founded in 2005, began as an annual survey of Hollywood executives' favorite unproduced screenplays. Since then, over 440 scripts that have appeared on the Black List have been produced, grossing over $30 billion in box office worldwide. Those films have gone on to win 54 Academy Awards from 267 nominations, including four of the last twelve Best Picture Oscars and eleven of the last 28 Best Screenplay Oscars.

 

In October of 2012, the Black List launched a unique online community where writers could make their work available to readers, buyers and employers. Since its inception, it has hosted nearly 80,000 screenplays and pilots and provided more than 130,000 script evaluations. As a result, hundreds of writers have found representation at major talent agencies and management companies, as well as sold or optioned their screenplays.

 

Several films have been produced from scripts showcased on the website including Golden Globe nominated NIGHTINGALE, starring David Oyelowo. Currently, the Black List hosts over 5,500 screenplays and pilot scripts by approximately 3,700 writer members. These scripts are available for download by industry professionals ranging from agency assistants, to studio and network presidents, to A-list actors and directors.

Event Details